Fishing & Boating News

Murray State University Wins FLW College Fishing Central Conference Event On Carlyle Lake

by: Jody White, Communications Specialist, FLW Outdoors

The Murray State University team of Cody Santel of Petersburg, Ill., and Justin Berger of Freeburg, Ill., won the FLW College Fishing Central Conference tournament on Carlyle Lake Saturday with five bass weighing 13 pounds and 10 ounces. Their win earned
Photo by courtesy FLW Outdoors
(Apr. 26, 2014 - CARLYLE, IL.)

Santel and Berger battled the tough conditions on Carlyle and won by a solid 1-pound, 5-ounce margin in their first FLW College Fishing tournament together as a team.

"We eliminated a lot of water with our pre-fish," said Berger. "We spent three full days out here and we ended up finding them today. We caught two of our fish in cuts on rock transitions where the rock got smaller but before it turned to mud banks. Our other bass came off of the end of laydowns in 7- to 8-feet of water. We were dragging a tube and a Zoom Brush Hog through the treetops and that's where we caught three of them including our two biggest fish."

"The lake was really windy today and Carlyle is really muddy," explained Santel. "Once we had our limit we really couldn't find any more water that looked like what we were fishing, so we just took a boat ride back in."

"I grew up about an hour away from here and I have fished Carlyle quite a few times," said Berger. "I think some of my experience helped out a little bit because I know how fish typically are caught and act in this lake."

"We're excited that we can go fish the Invitational at Kentucky Lake now," added Santel. "Our chances are going to be pretty good. We had another Murray State team qualify at the first event on Table Rock Lake, so we're expecting big things."

The top 15 teams that advanced to the 2014 FLW College Fishing Central Conference Invitational are:

1st: Murray State University Cody Santel, Petersburg, Ill., and Justin Berger, Freeburg, Ill. five bass 13-10 $2,000
2nd: University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Sig Finley, Wonder Lake, Ill., and Pat Bowers, Hudson, Wis. five bass 12-5 $1,000
3rd: Western Illinois University Craig Wise, Cary, Ill., and Jackson Grabeel, Taylor Ridge, Ill. five bass 11-6 $500
4th: University of Missouri Ben Verhoef, Osage Beach, Mo., and Christian Ponzetti, Excelsior, Minn. four bass 10-4 $500
5th: Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville Dan Calcaterra, Edwardsville, Ill., and Dalton Wesley, Worden, Ill. four bass 9-15 $500
6th: University of Evansville Nick Uebelhor and Eric Kieffner both of Jasper, Ind. four bass 7-14
7th: Georgetown College Mike Huff, Corbin, Ky., and John Hunter, Georgetown, Ky. four bass 7-13
8th: Purdue University-Fort Wayne Parker Watts and Joseph Sittler, both of Fort Wayne, Ind two bass 7-0
9th: McKendree University Brian McClanahan, Elkville, Ill., and Austin Chapman, Blue Mound, Ill. three bass 6-15
10th: University of Wisconsin-Platteville Brett Daggett, Cottage Grove, Wis., and Ryan Gilbert, Sterling, Ill. four bass 7-13
11th: Missouri State University Kyle Doherty, Chesterfield, Mo., and Nick King, St. Louis, Mo. two bass 6-13
12th: University of Dubuque Austin Brimeyer, Iowa, and Anthony Riesberg, Dyersville, Iowa three bass 6-10
13th: Indiana University Derrick Hoffman, South Elgin, Ill., and Brody McWilliams, Greenwood, Ind. four bass 6-6
14th: Iowa State University McKinley Geiger, Ames, Iowa, and Shane Weinberg, Plainfield, Iowa two bass 6-5
15th: Western Illinois University Caleb Shoemaker, Blandinsville, Ill., and Travis Wilson, La Harpe, Ill. two bas 6-2

Complete results can be found at the CollegeFishing website.

FLW College Fishing teams compete in three qualifying events in one of five conferences - Central, Northern, Southern, Southeastern and Western. The top 15 teams from each regular-season tournament will qualify for one of five conference invitational tournaments. The top 10 teams from each conference invitational tournament will advance to the 2015 FLW College Fishing National Championship.

College Fishing is free to enter. All participants must be registered, full-time undergraduate students at a four-year college or university and members of a fishing club recognized by their college or university.

For regular updates, photos, tournament news and more, follow College Fishing on Facebook at and on Twitter at Visit the CollegeFishing website to sign up or to start a club at your school.

FLW is the industry's premier tournament-fishing organization, providing anglers of all skill levels the opportunity to compete for millions in prize money nationwide in 2014 over the course of 229 tournaments across five tournament circuits, four of which provide an avenue to the sport's richest payday and most coveted championship trophy - the Forrest Wood Cup. FLW tournament fishing can be seen on the Emmy-nominated "FLW" television show and is broadcast to more than 564 million households worldwide, making it the most widely distributed weekly outdoors-sports television show in the world. For more information about FLW visit the FLWOutdoors website and look for FLW on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram and YouTube.