Fishing & Boating News

FLW Announces Schedule, Rules, Entry Dates for 2018 YETI FLW College Fishing

by: Joe Opager, Director of Public Relations,

(Oct 10, 2017 - Minneapolis, MN)

FLW announced Monday the schedule, rules and entry dates for the 2018 YETI FLW College Fishing season, highlighted by the internationally televised College Fishing National Championship on the Red River in Shreveport, Louisiana, and the fourth annual FLW College Fishing Open on Kentucky Lake.
Among the changes for 2018 is the addition of a BFL prize package for the runner-up of the College Fishing National Championship Fish-off. After the national champions are crowned on the Red River, the winning team will then compete against each other in a one-day fish-off in which the winner will receive entry into the 2018 Forrest Wood Cup. The runner-up will now receive free entry as a boater or co-angler into the BFL division of his or her choice.

“Every year it seems that FLW College Fishing gets a little bit bigger and a little bit better,” said Kevin Hunt, FLW College Fishing tournament director. “We’re excited to return to some familiar lakes in 2018 but also visit some new fisheries, like Lake Cayuga in New York and the Mississippi River in Wabasha, Minnesota. The extra incentive with the addition of the BFL prize package to the National Championship winner’s prize package will be extremely coveted by college anglers. We are looking forward to another tremendous season and excited to kick it off in January on Sam Rayburn.”

2018 FLW College Fishing Schedule:
FLW College Fishing OPEN
    •    March 6-7                           Kentucky Lake                    Gilbertsville, Ky.
Central Conference
    •    April 28                               Kentucky/Barkley lakes      Gilbertsville, Ky.
    •    July 28                               Mississippi River                Wabasha, Minn.
    •    Sept. 29                              Lake of the Ozarks             Osage Beach, Mo.
Northern Conference
    •    April 21                              Smith Mountain Lake         Huddleston, Va.
    •    July 21                               Lake Cayuga                      Seneca Falls, N.Y.
    •    Sept. 8                               Lake Erie                            Sandusky, Ohio
Southeastern Conference
    •    Feb. 10                               Lake Seminole                   Bainbridge, Ga.
    •    March 3                              Lake Guntersville               Guntersville, Ala.
    •    May 5                                 Lake Chickamauga            Dayton, Tenn.
Southern Conference
    •    Jan. 13                               Sam Rayburn Reservoir     Zavalla, Texas
    •    April 7                                 Lake Texoma                     Pottsboro, Texas
    •    Oct. 27                               Ouachita River                   Monroe, La.
Western Conference
    •    Feb. 10                               Lake Havasu                      Lake Havasu City, Ariz.
    •    May 12                               Clear Lake                          Lakeport, Calif.
    •    Sept. 29                             California Delta                   Bethel Island, Calif.
FLW College Fishing National Championship
    •    May 31-June 1                   Red River                           Bossier City/Shreveport, La.
    •    June 2 – FISH-OFF            TBA                    
Complete rules can be found online at

Registration for the 2018 season opens Dec. 11, 2017, for teams from clubs represented in the 2017 FLW College Fishing National Championship. All other teams may register beginning Dec. 12, 2017. You can register at or by calling 270.252.1000.

College Fishing is free to enter. All participants must be registered, full-time students at a college, university or community college and members of a college fishing club that is recognized by their school.

FLW College Fishing teams compete in three regular-season qualifying tournaments in one of five conferences – Central, Northern, Southern, Southeastern and Western. The top ten teams from each division’s three regular-season tournaments and the top 20 teams from the annual FLW College Fishing Open will advance to the following year’s FLW College Fishing National Championship. Additional teams will qualify for the National Championship if the field size in regular-season events exceeds 100 boats or 200 boats in the Open. The 2018 YETI FLW College Fishing National Championship is on the Red River, May 31-June 2, and hosted by the Shreveport-Bossier Sports Commission & Red River Waterway Commission.

About FLW
FLW is the world’s largest tournament-fishing organization, providing anglers of all skill levels the opportunity to compete for millions in prize money in 2017 across five tournament circuits. Headquartered in Benton, Kentucky, with offices in Minneapolis, FLW conducts more than 258 bass-fishing tournaments annually across the United States and sanctions tournaments in Canada, China, Mexico, South Africa and South Korea. FLW tournament fishing can be seen on the Emmy-nominated “FLW" television show, broadcast to more than 564 million households worldwide, while FLW Bass Fishing magazine delivers cutting-edge tips from top pros.