Fishing & Boating News

Lake Havasu Set to Host YETI FLW College Fishing Event Presented by Bass Pro Shops

by: Drew Aspinwall, FLW Fishing

(Jan 31, 2018 - Lake Havasu City, AZ)

YETI FLW College Fishing will continue the season with an event Feb. 10 on Lake Havasu. The tournament, hosted by the Lake Havasu City Convention & Visitors Bureau, is the first of three regular-season events for anglers in the Western Conference, and will feature a top prize of a $2,000 club scholarship and an invitation to compete in the 2019 College Fishing National Championship.

“Moving baits will be key in this tournament,” said 2014 FLW Series Western Division Angler of the Year Kyle Grover, of Trabuco Canyon, California, who has two top-20 finishes on Lake Havasu in FLW competition. “Look to see guys winding umbrella rigs, crankbaits, and Rat-L-Traps.

“The water level is down, so some guys will pull good fish from the river but most fish will be caught in the lake,” Grover continued. “I think an 18-pound limit should be enough to get the win.”

Competitors will take off from Lake Havasu State Park, located at 699 London Bridge Road, in Lake Havasu City, Arizona, at 8 a.m. MST Saturday. Weigh-in will be held at the park beginning at 2:30 p.m. Takeoff and weigh-in are free and open to the public.

Schools are allowed to register up until the morning of the tournament. Entries may be made either by phone or at

Schools expected to compete in the Lake Havasu tournament include:
Arizona State University – Michael Jones, Tempe, Ariz., and Steven Latino, Chandler, Ariz.
California Polytechnic State University – Alec Pitts, Santa Rosa, Calif., and Hugh Cosculluela, The Woodlands, Texas
California State University-Chico – Chad Sweitzer, Chico, Calif., and Tyler Firebaugh, Danville, Calif.
Grand Canyon University – Joseph Dwyer, Scottsdale, Ariz., and Tommy Sendek, Tucson, Ariz.
Utah Valley University – Ben Levie, Salem, Utah, and Will Brown, Provo, Utah

YETI FLW College Fishing teams compete in three regular-season qualifying tournaments in one of five conferences – Central, Northern, Southern, Southeastern and Western. The top ten teams from each division’s three regular-season tournaments and the top 20 teams from the annual FLW College Fishing Open will advance to the 2019 FLW College Fishing National Championship. Additional teams will qualify for the National Championship if the field size in regular-season events exceeds 100 boats. The 2019 FLW College Fishing National Championship will take place May 30-June 1 on the Red River in Shreveport, Louisiana, and is hosted by the Shreveport-Bossier Sports Commission & Red River Waterway Commission.

YETI FLW College Fishing is free to enter. All participants must be registered, full-time students at a college, university or community college and members of a college fishing club that is recognized by their school.

About FLW
FLW is the world’s largest tournament-fishing organization, providing anglers of all skill levels the opportunity to compete for millions in prize money in 2018 across five tournament circuits. Headquartered in Benton, Kentucky, with offices in Minneapolis, FLW and their partners conduct 286 bass-fishing tournaments annually around the world, including the United States, Canada, China, Italy, South Korea, Mexico, Portugal, and South Africa. FLW tournament fishing can be seen on the Emmy-nominated “FLW" television show, broadcast to more than 564 million households worldwide, while FLW Bass Fishing magazine delivers cutting-edge tips from top pros.